What are the 7 Chakras?

These chakras are considered the primary energy centers of the body. Many times when we hear about these energy centers, we talk about unblocking them. When all the chakras are open, the energy that runs through them provides harmony between our body, mind, and spirit.

I could write for days about the chakras. Here is a summary

The seven main chakras are located in the body. When even one of these is blocked and not working well, it can make us feel off balance. The seven main chakras, and what they stand for, include:

Note: Lavender is a great essential oil to balance all 7 chakras.

The Root Chakra

The first chakra is known as the root chakra. It is found at the base of our spine and is our foundation. The root chakra keeps up grounded, safe and helps with having a good relationship with money. When balanced, it provides us with the feeling of being grounded and part of the world. When the root chakra is open, we can feel confident in ourselves. If your self-confidence is lacking, then the root chakra may be blocked. Those with a strong root chakra can withstand any challenge and stand on their own two feet. If it is blocked, we may feel unstable and threatened in our world.

Essential oils - Patchouli, Sandalwood, Cedarwood, Frankincense

Crystals - Garnet, Red Jasper, Carnelian, Ruby, Hematite

The Sacral Chakra

Moving up the body, we can work with the second chakra, known as the sacral chakra. This is a good chakra to work on because it helps us relate to our emotions and understand the emotions of others. It encourages good relationships. This helps us not to lose our cool all the time while being empathetic to others. This is also a good chakra to use for our sexual energy and creativity. When this chakra is blocked, we likely feel a lack of energy in our lives. Opening up the sacral chakra can make it easier to regulate your emotions and choose which ones are important to use and when.

Essential oils- Sandalwood, Jasmine, Rose, Ylang Ylang, Lavender, Orange

Crystals - Carnelian, Red Jasper, Citrine, Sunstone

The Power Center Chakra

The power center chakra, also known as the solar plexus chakra, is the one that helps us to feel confident and in complete control over our lives. A good way to remember this chakra is to think back to the last time there was a pit in your stomach, or if you felt like you had butterflies there. When you have those experiences, it is the power center chakra at work. If this chakra is blocked, you may feel shame and self-doubt in your decisions. Yet, when this one is open, you can express your true self without doubt or worry about what others think.

Essential oils - Lemon, Cinnamon, Clove, Lemongrass, Orange, Patchouli, Cedarwood, Chamomile, Sandalwood, Bergamot

Crystals - Tiger's eye, Citrine, Yellow calcite

The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is the bridge between the upper chakras and the lower chakras. As you can guess from the name, this is a chakra that will influence how we can give love to others and how we receive love for ourselves. When your heart chakra is blocked, it is hard to open up to other people in your life. You may be able to give love to others, but it is difficult to accept love from others, and this is a problem too. When the heart chakra is open, you may experience deep empathy and compassion in your life. There is so much more to the heart chakra than love, although this is an important part of this chakra.

Essential oils - Rose, Neroli, Ylang Ylang, Geranium, Orange, Jasmine, Lavender, Frankincense